Governance review

As part of CILIP’s change programme to be fit for the future, we have reviewed our governance. Changes will be implemented between November 2014 and April 2015.

Through the review we asked for the views of all of our members and stakeholders on the proposals. All views were fed back to CILIP Council to help finalise proposals before being taken to members for vote at the AGM on 20 September 2014. The Privy Council then formally agreed the changes in November 2014. 

  • What has changed?

    In September 2014 members voted on the governance review and agreed changes to CILIP’s Royal Charter and Bye laws. The Privy Council formally agreed these changes in November 2014.

    These changes include a new model of governance including the creation of a Policy Committee and Resources Committee.

    CILIP Council is re-named a Board and Councillors become Board Members.

  • Introducing the changes

    The new Royal Charter and Bye laws came into effect immediately after the Privy Council meeting on 5 November.

    The new Board and committees will be formed between November 2014 and April 2015.

  • Why did we review our governance structure?

    The Governance Review was part of a three year change programme to ensure CILIP’s sustainability and relevance, and to make sure the organisation is fit for the future.

  • Why is good governance so important?

    As a charity, CILIP trustees are responsible for ensuring the organisation is focused on public good and is driven by the needs of its members.

    The responsibility for financial security and legal compliance all rests with this group of volunteers. Therefore it is vital that the governance structures and skills and experience of trustees are the best that they can be. 

  • Review objectives and process

    We looked at the structure of Council, its bye-laws and regulations, and also the role of the President and the ‘Office of the President’ (the Vice President, President and Past President) and the panels and committees that exist. 

    The review was linked to our review of branches and groups, as their existence is part of governance, but the reviews were not integrated.