Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Share |

The UK's oldest children's book awards, awarded annually by youth librarians for outstanding writing and illustration in books for children and young people.

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book in English for children and young people. Winners include, Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Margaret Mahy, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman and Patrick Ness. 


The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people. Winners include Raymond Briggs, Helen Oxenbury, Shirley Hughes, Lauren Child, Chris Riddell, Anthony Browne, Quentin Blake and Emily Gravett.


The Awards Shadowing Scheme brings thousands of young people in schools, public libraries and other reading environments together to form book groups to read and discuss the shortlisted titles and engage in creative and educational activity in groups and online.

A two-year Open University study, commissioned in association with the Carnegie UK Trust has shown that the shadowing scheme is an excellent way to encourage reading for pleasure in young people.


Awards website
Contact us