29 May 2013 Last updated at 15:57, 21/02/2017

Vocational qualifications

Vocational qualifications enable you to combine work with gaining a qualification that is widely recognised by employers.

Levels of award

There are two vocational qualifications that are frequently completed by people working in information and library services.

  • Level 2 is a Certificate in Libraries, Archives and Information Services.
  • Level 3 is a Diploma in Library, Archives and Information Services.

The following organisations are licensed to offer the awards:

AIM Awards

Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)

British Institute of Innkeeping Awarding Body (BIIAB)

You should contact the organisation directly for information on centres that offer the qualifications.

In addition, training and development in customer care, information technology and other areas will all provide useful learning that will help you to complete CILIP Certification, Chartership and Fellowship and will feed into Revalidation.