20 March 2013 Last updated at 9:53, 2/02/2017

Welsh Librarian of the Year Award 2017

nominees and winners WLYA 13-16

The nominations are open for CILIP Cymru Wales Welsh Librarian of the Year Award 2017


This award recognises and celebrates the contribution of library and information experts to the profession and society.The 2015 winner Mark Hughes summed up the award beautifully by saying "What we provide through Libraries really matters to the communities we serve – and The Welsh Librarian of the Year award is a wonderful way of recognising the vital contribution individuals make to providing that service through their dedication and work."

Award criteria
Nominations for Welsh Librarian of the Year should demonstrate achievements in the following areas:
•    Positive impact on community or sector
•    Improving library services
•    Commitment to the profession

During the first WLYA ceremony in 2013 Barbara Pacut representing the awards sponsor Sirsi Dynix said that “The librarian plays a key role in the function of libraries in our communities, a fact that can often be overlooked in discussions and debates around buildings and cultural resources.  It is the librarian who shapes the character of a library, and who drives for its success."


The award will be presented during the CILIP Cymru Wales conference dinner at Venue Cymru, Llandudno. http://www.cilip.org.uk/cilip-cymru-wales/events/cilip-cymru-wales-conference-2017


Forms should be returned by 5pm on the Friday 28th April 2017

 Email to Wales@cilip.org.uk , with ‘WLYA nomination’ in the subject bar



The Award is administered by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Wales, and is sponsored by SirsiDynix – worldwide library technology specialists.



Image credit: top left photograph in collage by Dan Stavely.