Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowship is the highest recognition that CILIP can give to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the library and information world.

It can sometimes be awarded to members of the profession as a reflection of the respect and regard of their colleagues for a particularly important contribution over a long period of time.

It is also the means by which CILIP can recognise those people who are not in the information profession but have supported and contributed to its development and profile.

Honorary Fellows do not have to be CILIP members but must have some kind of relationship or link to the profession.

2016 Honorary Fellowships

Recipients of the title join a roll call of influential figures including three time former Prime Minster Rt. Hon Stanley Baldwin, Scottish philantrophist and library founder Andrew Carnegie, the inventor of the Dewey Decimal system used in library classification, Melvil Dewey; the poet, novelist and librarian Philip Larkin, novelist Dame Catherine Cookson and children’s illustrator and author Shirley Hughes.  The following members of the library and information community were named Honorary Fellows of CILIP in 2016:

Moe Moe Soe, Chief Librarian at the British Council’s Library in Myanmar
Moe Moe was nominated by colleagues for her impact on and commitment to the British Council Library in Myanmar, which is the public face of the British Council and one of the most respected institutions of any type in the country.  Known to colleagues as ‘Aunty’ Moe, Moe Moe joined the British Council in what was then Rangoon (Yangon) in 1989 and was appointed Chief Librarian by 1991, during a time of great unrest in what was formerly Burma; with the country’s military junta imposing widespread suppression of human rights, including the high profile house arrest and subsequent imprisonment for 15 years of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi. During unremitting restrictions on civil liberties, Moe Moe is credited with preserving and developing the library as a vital space to learn, think and discuss ideas without surveillance or censorship; making important decisions to retain and make available for reference sensitive and otherwise inaccessible texts in Myanmar. 

Mark Hepworth, Professor in People's Information Behaviour at Loughborough University
Mark was nominated for his outstanding contribution to the profession as an inspirational teacher and researcher in the field of information literacy for over 25 years. Mark’s research is regarded as having important impact in Higher Education in the UK and abroad, most notably the ongoing African Universities’ Research Approaches programme (AURA), working with nine universities in Sub-Saharan Africa to enrich the research and teaching practices of academics in health, agriculture and the environment. Ultimately, the AURA programme works to support economic prosperity in Africa and better, more democratic national governance. Mark’s canon of work has been cited over 800 times and in a 2007 he was awarded a prestigious Emerald Literati Award, given in recognition of outstanding contributions to scholarly research.

Tricia Adams, School Library Association Director  
School Library Association (SLA) Director since 2008, Tricia will lead the SLA’s 80 year anniversary in 2017 and next year will reprise her 2008 role as Chair of Judges for the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards, in what will be the 80 and 60 year anniversary of the prestigious Medals. Tricia was nominated by fellow members of the library and information community for her outstanding advocacy for school, children’s and youth library staff and services. She played a driving role in activity by All Party Parliamentary Groups for Education and Libraries, including a 2011-12 Literacy Inquiry and 2014 report on School Libraries; and has led the development of national awards that recognise excellence in library practice.

Linda Ferguson BA (Hons), MA, FCLIP Deputy Director of NHS Library and Knowledge Services North and NHS Health Care Libraries Unit, North
Linda  was nominated by fellow members of the library and information community for her role as a committed mentor to others developing their careers in the profession and her work as a driving force behind CILIP’s mentor training programme over the last sixteen years. Linda is Mentor Support Officer for the North West, providing essential support day to day to all those in the region who are working towards professional development. Providing invaluable knowledge sharing and support for the career development of others in the workforce, CILIP currently has over 500 mentors UK-wide actively helping others to achieve internationally recognised professional registration. 

Moira Bent, Retired Librarian and National Teaching Fellow and Visiting Fellow at Newcastle University
Moira was nominated for her outstanding contribution to academic libraries as a champion of libraries, information and digital literacy, for her research and teaching and for her part in a number of national projects to raise the profile of information literacy and develop librarians’ teaching skills. Moira worked in Higher Education libraries for over 20 years. She has been actively involved with the development of learning opportunities across the University, particularly working to integrate information literacy into the curriculum and into the teaching and learning strategy of the university. In recognition of her service to teaching, Moira Bent received the National Teaching Fellowship in 2005 and used the prize to continue her research into information literacy, sharing her learning with colleagues across the UK.