Photo:  Imrana Ghumra (Co-Chair of HLG) with prize winners at the HLG 2016 Conference held in Scarborough.

HLG offers a number of grants and bursaries to support the continuing professional development of our members. These include conference bursaries to attend both national and international conferences, financial assistance to support unemployed members attending our courses. Additional awards include the Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize to recognise outstanding services to medical librarianship and the biennial Research in the Workplace Award (RIWA) to support small UK based workplace research projects with the aim of developing a strong evidence base for health information practice. 

International Clinical Librarians Conference (ICLC) Bursaries 2017

HLG is offering two bursaries to support HLG members to attend the International Clinical Librarians Conference in Leicester. Applications close 28th July 2017.  Click here for more details.

If you have any questions about any of the HLG Awards, please contact Doug Knock, HLG Awards Co-ordinator:

  • Bishop and LeFanu Lecture

    The Bishop and LeFanu Memorial Lecture was established in 1968 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Medical Section of the Library Association, in which William John Bishop played a significant role. Leslie Morton suggested and endorsed having Bishop commemorated by a lecture or similar memorial.  This was then put into effect.  It was decided that the lecture should be given annually, if possible on the occasion of the Annual General Meeting.

  • Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize

    Established in 1962, this prize is awarded by the Health Libraries Group Committee in recognition of outstanding services to medical librarianship and is awarded every three years.  

    Award recipients are nominated by the Health Library Group Committee. 

  • ICML and EAHIL 2017

    EAHIL Bursaries

    EAHIL Bursaries 2017

    Two bursaries to support HLG members to attend the International Congress of Medical Librarianship (ICML) + European Association for Health Information and Libraries (EAHIL) in Dublin were recently awarded.  

  • Grants and Financial Assistance (conference/training course attendance)

    HLG offers free places and grants for HLG members and students to attend conferences and training courses.

  • Winners of the HLG 2016 Conference Bursaries

    Health Libraries Group Conference bursaries

    Photo:  Some of the winners of the HLG 2016 member bursary recipients.

    The CILIP Health Libraries Group (HLG) awarded 8 HLG member bursary places and 3 student places to attend last year’s HLG conference in Scarborough on 15 & 16 September 2016.  The next HLG Conference will take place next year in 2018.

  • HLG International Award

    The HLG International Award was established in 2012 and is run in partnership with CILIP’s International Libraries Group (ILIG) and Partnerships in Health Information (Phi). 

  • Manchester CILIP Conference 2017

    HLG sponsored Bursary Place - CILIP Conference

    CILIP Conference 2017 – 5 - 6 July, Manchester

    Congratulations to Lisa Burscheidt, the lucky winner of the prize draw for the HLG bursary place for the CILIP Conference 2017. We received over 50 entries so thank you to everyone who participated and engaged. If you would like to view all the wonderful Twitter entries please see the storify.

  • ICLC logo

    International Clinical Librarians Conference (ICLC) Bursaries 2017

    International Clinical Librarians Conference (ICLC) Bursaries 2017

    Two bursaries to support HLG members to attend the International Clinical Librarian Conference (ICLC) in Leicester between 21st & 22nd September.

    • Cost of full registration + evening meal (£270)

    • Up to £200 travel / accommodation expenses


    Guide for Applicants

  • Leslie Morton Bursary

    Applications are now open for the 2017 Leslie Morton bursary. The Bursary was established to encourage attendance at international conferences in health librarianship, medical bibliography or medical history and awards up to £1,000 to the successful recipient.

  • Research in the Workplace Award

    Sponsored by HLG, UHMLG, HLG Nursing, LIRG and BMA Library