Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Alan Jeffreys Award
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group

Alan Jeffreys Award

Established in 1996, in memory of a former chairman of the group, the Alan Jeffreys Award is awarded to recognise those who have made significant contributions to the understanding and development of cataloguing, indexing and related fields of librarianship.

The recipient of the award should have made a substantive contribution to the development, teaching or practice of cataloguing or indexing. Nominations for the award should be sent to the Honorary Secretary. Nominations should provide evidence of exceptional achievement in one or more of the following categories:

  • Teaching or Professional Development
  • Leadership in a changing environment
  • Delivery of a project

Evidence should include assessment of the impact the nominee has had. This may include, but is not limited to, improved access to collections; academic performance or efficiencies. Nominations will be evaluated by the CIG committee. Nominees are excluded from the evaluation process.

Alan Jeffreys Award holders

  • 2018
    Prof. Vanda Broughton - for her significant contribution to teaching and professional education in the U.K. and to the classification community worldwide.
  • 2016-2017
    No award made.
  • 2015
    Fred Guy - for being a stalwart for the development and advocacy of librarians throughout his career and particularly for cataloguing and indexing professionals in Scotland since the mid-1980s.
  • 2014
    Tom Meehan - for his advocacy for and accessible teaching of linked data and Bibframe in the current changing cataloguing environment, which had a positive impact on the education and professional development of cataloguers.
  • 2013
    Esther Arens - for her work in conceiving, developing (and often delivering) the successful “FRBR for the terrified” workshops. The workshops were always booked out and highly appreciated by all who attended them.
  • Celine Carty - for her work on supporting the adoption of RDA within the UK academic library community. She has been very visble in supporting cataloguers beyond her institution, especially in social media and through feeding back her experiences at ALA.
  • 2012
    Hugh Taylor - for his longlasting and impacting work as representative of CILIP and the UK cataloguing community to national and international bodies e.g. RDA Joint Steering Committee, ALA Program for Cooperative Cataloguing, NACO.
  • 2009-2011
    No awards made.
  • 2008
    John Bowman - for his significant contribution to the teaching of cataloguing, both as a lecturer and as an author, and his contribution to the development of the Dewey Decimal Classification, AACR2 and RDA.
  • 2007
    Gordon Dunsire - for his work in developing international standards and promoting the value of cataloguers.
  • 2003-2006
    No awards made.
  • 2002
    Pat Booth - in recognition of whole-document indexing.
  • 2001
    Maewyn Cumming - for significant work in developing the e-Government Metadata Standard.
  • 2000
    Ann Chapman - for significant contribution to the understanding and development of statistical evidence within professional fields of interest.
  • 1999
    Stuart James - for his contribution to the development of CIG’s areas of interest, including setting up CIG Scotland.
  • 1998
    Brian Holt - in recognition of his work on UKMARC and MARC harmonisation.
  • 1997
    Keith Trickey - for his energy in maintaining the standards of cataloguing skills.
  • 1996
    Ross Trotter - in recognition of his contribution to the 21st edition of the Dewey Decimal Classification Scheme.
Contact us