Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
The Jason Farradane Award 2020
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
The Jason Farradane Award 2020


The UK e-information Group (UKeiG) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the Jason Farradane Award 2020.

UKeiG’s prestigious Jason Farradane Award is given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the library and information profession.

It will be awarded to an individual or a team in recognition of exemplary and innovative practice. This may take the form of a specific project, a piece of research or the development of a service or resource, for example.
The Award celebrates creativity and enterprise across the library and information profession in its widest sense. UKeiG has also announced a call for nominations for the Tony Kent Strix Award which is awarded for a major, sustained or influential contribution to the field of search/information retrieval.

Nominations must be received by 6 pm GMT on Friday 25th September 2020.

Nominations should meet one or more of the following criteria:

Contributing to the creation, promotion and exploitation of digital resources and services
Raising the profile of library and information services across the organisation
Raising awareness of the value and impact of library and information services internally and/or externally
Evidencing a significant contribution to organisational goals and strategies through internal and/or external collaborative partnerships and cross team working
Demonstrating excellence in library and information science education and teaching
Making a significant contribution to the theory and practice of library and information science.

Key characteristics that the judging panel will look for in nominations are innovation, initiative, originality and practicality.

The Award is open to individuals or groups from anywhere in the world.

Nominations should take the form of a short description (maximum 3 A4 pages) of the work in question, together with full contact details of both the nominee and the nominator. Please include any documentation, references or links which may support the nomination. 

Previous individual winners include: Professor Hazel Hall (2016), Sheila Webber (2015) and Professor Charles Oppenheim (2013).

Previous teams include: the Chemoinformatics Research Group in the Information School, University of Sheffield (2012) and the United Kingdom Council of Research Repositories (UKCoRR) (2011.).
A complete list of winners is here:

Nominations for the 2020 Award must be emailed with the full supporting documentation to:
John Wickenden – Hon. Secretary UKeiG
and copied to:
Gary Horrocks - UKeiG administrator 
Sue Silcocks – Hon. Treasurer UKeiG

The closing date for nominations is 6 pm GMT on Friday 25th September 2020.

About Jason Farradane 
UKeiG’s Award honours Jason Farradane, who first made an impact on the LIS community with a paper on the ‘scientific approach to documentation’ presented at a Royal Society Scientific Information Conference in 1948. He was instrumental in establishing the Institute of Information Scientists in 1958, alongside the first academic information science courses in 1963 at the precursor to City University, London, where he became Director of the Centre for Information Science in 1966.

Contact us