Awards for the people - and the vans – delivering outstanding public and mobile library services

PMLG Award winners

l to r: Russell, John and Annie

Three outstanding public library staff have been recognised with national awards from the Public and Mobile Libraries Group (PMLG) of CILIP for their excellent customer service, expertise and professionalism.

Public Librarian of the Year
Russell Allen, Team Leader, Children’s services, West Sussex

Recognising outstanding library and information professionals working in a public library service that make a real difference to the communities they serve, the wider public and the library profession.

Public Library Champion of the Year
Annie Brierley, Library Supervisor, South Molton Library, Devon

Recognising the achievements of outstanding frontline public library staff that make a real difference to the people who use their library.

Mobile Library Champion of the Year
John McNab, Mobile Library Supervisor, Essex

Recognising outstanding assistants, drivers or librarians who make a real difference to the lives of the people served by mobile libraries.

PMLG Chair Jacquie Widdowson said:

“We want to draw attention to the importance of library and information workers at all levels and to the high quality customer service experienced in most public libraries.  The awards recognise the achievement of some very special library staff.”

Mobile library awards

Trophies were also awarded to four library services for their mobile vehicles, recognising the work of Authorities and vehicle builders in bringing innovative design and new developments to Mobile Library services.

  • State of the Art Award - Essex Libraries
  • Delegate’s Choice Award - Renfrewshire Libraries
  • President’s Shield for Best Small Van - Sandwell Libraries were presented
  • Best Vehicle Livery Award - North Yorkshire

The awards were presented at the 2015 Public and Mobile Libraries Group 'Lighting the Way' Conference in Staffordshire on 9 and 10 October. The theme explored public libraries’ contribution to health and wellbeing. To be eligible for the awards, staff must be nominated by their employer and supported by customer testimonials.