Candidates for CILIP Council trigger election

CILIP received six nominations from candidates for the role of Councillor meaning a ballot of the membership to elect the four candidates required to fill the vacancies on Council will take place.

Nominations were received from Andy Dawson, John Dolan, Tom Roper, Karen McFarlane, David McMenemy and David Stewart. The role of Vice-President received no nominations and a decision about how to proceed will be made by the Elections Panel and CILIP Council in accordance with the bye-laws and will be announced shortly.

Council members must demonstrate a passion and commitment to the library and information profession and understand its ethics and values. They should be able to contribute strategically to the effective running of CILIP. Council members are also the trustees of CILIP as a charity which means they are responsible for directing its affairs, ensuring it is solvent and well-run and delivering the charitable objectives and purpose of its Royal Charter. The role of a Council member is not to be a representative of any particular sector or part of the profession.