Awards and Bursaries from UKeiG

As a part of its commitment to the profession and to continuing professional development, UKeiG offers awards for professionals, members, early-career professionals and students.

Contact for queries

Please have a look at the information on each award page, and contact us at if you have any further queries.

  • UKeIG CILIP Conference Bursaries

    Covers the full conference fee and one night's accommodation for the CILIP Conference

    • Applications closed

    This page will be updated with details of next conference when available and how to apply for a bursary place.

    To keep up to date you may also wish to visit the website

  • UKeiG Student or Early-Career Professional Conference Grant

    Discretionary award offered to help a current ILS student or an early-career professional attend a relevant conference. (May not cover complete cost.)

    • Open. Applications can be made at any time
  • UKeiG Student Bursary

    Provides funding towards information management courses for UK students who are nominated by their department.

  • 2015 UKeiG Early Career Award Tropy

    UKeiG Early Career Award

    Celebrates extra-ordinary and inspirational enterprise in early-career professionals who are members of CILIP.

    • Winners announced: Amy Finnegan, Catherine McManamon, Helen Monagle and Siobhan Cottam, founders of the New Library Professionals Network (NLPN). 
  • UKeiG Research Grant

    Assistance towards meeting the costs of a small research project.

    • Call for applications in November
  • Jason Farradane Award

    Made to an individual or a group of people in recognition of outstanding work in the information profession.

    • 2017 Winner announced: Christopher Gutteridge, Systems, Information and Web programmer at the University of Southampton
  • Tony Kent Strix Owl

    Tony Kent Strix Award

    Recognises an outstanding contribution to the field of information retrieval in its widest sense.

  • UKeiG Information Manager of the Year Prize

    The year's best Information Manager

    • Winner announced: Marlize Palmer, Welsh Government, Head of Library and Archive Services