Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
News & Press: Knowledge & Information

Double Winners for this year's Walford Award

20 November 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Gus MacDonald


This Year’s prestigious K&IM Walford Award for information professionals who have made an outstanding contribution to knowledge and information services.

The award is made by CILIP’s recently formed Knowledge & Information Group, and this year judges found it impossible to pick just one winner. Valerie Nurcombe and David Gurteen were named this year’s joint winners of the award.

Valerie has been instrumental in the world of official papers, having acted as Secretary and Treasurer of the Standing Committee on Official Publications (Scoop) from its inception in 1971 up until the 1990s. Her expertise in the field has proved invaluable and current chair of Scoop Andrew Coburn said: ‘Valerie was always willing to offer her assistance and advice even after she had stepped down from her formal positions on SCOOP. She was full of ideas and suggestions which enabled us to continue the committee as an active player in the field.’

David runs the successful and popular Gurteen Knowledge Communities, that have helped bring knowledge and information management professionals together. He is an independent knowledge management consultant, and is passionate about helping people share knowledge and work together. His knowledge community has more than 22,000 members in 160 countries.

Amanda Duffy, who presented the awards on behalf of the K&IM group, said: “He has become a real champion of sharing knowledge and creating networks through the power of conversation and knowledge cafes. David is a model knowledge management practitioner – open-minded; inclusive; and willing to share learning with, as well as learning from others.

The award ceremony also featured the winners in K&IM Information Resources Award for print and electronic resources. This year’s winner in the print category was Martin Garrett’s A Romantics Chronology, 1780-1832. For the first time in the awards’ history, there was an equal number of entries in the e-resource category. This year the National Library of Scotland won for its Map Images website, which features thousands of high-resolution images of past and present maps from across the UK and further afield.



Contributor: Information Professional
Published:  20 November 2017


Related content:  Knowledge & Information Group



More from Information Professional



In depth





This reporting is funded by CILIP members. Find out more about the


Benefits of CILIP membership




Sign Up for our non member newsletter

Contact us