Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards

CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the nation's oldest and best-loved children's book awards, awarded annually by youth librarians to books for children and young people that create outstanding reading experiences through writing and illustration.

CILIP Carnegie Medal

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book written in English for children and young people. It was established by in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Previous winners include Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Margaret Mahy, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman and Patrick Ness. 

CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people. It was established in 1955 and is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs. Previous winners include Raymond Briggs, Helen Oxenbury, Shirley Hughes, Lauren Child, Chris Riddell, Anthony Browne, Quentin Blake and Emily Gravett.

Shadowers' Choice Award

Established in 2019, the Shadowers' Choice Award is a special commendation voted for and presented by children and young people who take part in the Awards Shadowing Scheme. The Shadowers' Choice is awarded to one book from each Medal shortlist, which is voted the overall favourite by the shadowing group participants.

Awards Shadowing Scheme

The CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Shadowing Scheme brings thousands of young people in schools, public libraries and other reading environments together to form book groups. They read and discuss the shortlisted titles and take part in creative and educational activity in groups and online.

A two-year Open University study, commissioned in association with the Carnegie UK Trust has shown that the shadowing scheme is an excellent way to encourage reading for pleasure in young people and highlights the unique role that librarians play.

Awards website
Contact us