Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group

2019 Public Library Champion Jillian McFrederick of Libraries NI, with James Mortimer, of Award Sponsors Lorensbergs.


  #PMLGAwards   #PublicLibraryChamp   #PublicLibrarianOfYear   #MobileLibraryChamp

The CILIP Public and Mobile Libraries Group makes periodic awards recognising the outstanding contribution that staff deliver to their customers, the communities they serve and the wider public library profession.

The awards are:

Public Library Champions Award: Recognising the achievements of outstanding frontline public library staff that make a real difference to the people who use their library

Mobile Library Champions Award:  Recognising the achievements of outstanding mobile library assistants, home delivery service staff, drivers or librarians who make a real difference to the lives of the people who use their services

Public Librarian of the Year:  Recognising the achievements of outstanding library and information professionals working in a public library service that make a real difference to the communities they serve and the wider public library profession.

Nomination Forms

Click on the link above for the Nomination Forms for the PMLG Awards 2019.

We have separate award categories for vehicles attending our Mobile Meets, (usually held at PMLG Conference.) 

Mobile Library Vehicle Awards: Presented to staff presenting outstanding mobile libraries at the Mobile Meet, they are classed as follows: 

  • State of the Art: Most innovative new vehicle (less than 3 years old)
  • President's Shield: Best small vehicle
  • Concours d'Elegance: Best older vehicle (more than 7 year's old)
  • Delegates' Choice: The vehicle voted for by delegates as the one they would most like to work on themselves
  • Livery Award: Awarded to the mobile library with the most attractive external appearance

The awards are usually presented at the biennial PMLG Conference or PMLG Teachmeet.

The awards are open to all library authorities in the UK.

Previous Winners

Click the link above for information about previous winners of PMLG Awards.


Contact us