Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Credit rating for Professional Registration

Credit rating for Professional Registration

Professional registration earns you credit points which can be transferred into other academic and vocational qualifications. You don’t have to do extra work, just complete professional registration at your chosen level and you're eligible to negotiate the use of the credit for further study. All levels of professional registration have been accredited by the SQA (Scottish Qualifications Authority) and have been given an SCQF credit rating.

How much credit is awarded?

The amount of credit you are awarded depends on the level of Professional Registration you complete:

  • Certification (ACLIP) has been rated for up to 27 SCQF level 7 credit points
  • Chartership (MCLIP) has been rated for up to 30 SCQF level 9 credit points
  • Fellowship (FCLIP) has been rated for up to 40 SCQF level 11 credit points

The accreditation provides professional registration with an equivalent rating comparable with other qualifications and evidences the academic weighting for each level of professional registration. All professional registration certificates will be issued with the SCQF logo as proof of achievement. In some circumstances holders of professional registration may be eligible for recognition of prior learning in the pursuit of a further qualification, but this is at the discretion of the relevant training/learning provider. The benefits of having SCQF credit rating are that it provides professional registration with national recognition, but also improved quality assurance processes (regularly assessed by the SQA).

Ratings Explained

The three levels of professional registration have been rated at levels 7, 9 and 11. These link to higher education qualifications as: certificate of higher education (level 7), bachelors degree (level 9) and masters degree (level 11). Head to the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework website for a full overview for a full overview of the SCQF Framework.

About the SCQF

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework is Scotland’s national qualification framework, and makes the relationships between a wide range of qualifications (academic and non-academic) clearer. Awards on the framework are allocated an SCQF level, reflecting the level of difficulty, and SCQF credits, which indicate length of time taken to complete.


If you are at the start of your career and want to gain recognition of the knowledge and skills you have developed, then Certification is perfect for you.


Demonstrate to employers that you have achieved the gold standard as an information professional by becoming a Chartered member of CILIP. You do need to be working in role that although you do not need to hold a specific academic qualification in order to work towards Chartership.


Fellowship is the highest level of professional registration and recognises your work leading innovation and change, and your contributions to the sector, your organisation or the public.


Contact us