Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
Share |



Alan Hopkinson Award

The deadline for applications for the 2018 Alan Hopkinson Award has now been extended to midnight on Sunday 8 April.

Following Alan Hopkinson's death in 2016, a trust fund was set up to enable one CILIP member per year to attend the IFLA annual conference. Alan Hopkinson was an active member of CILIP ILIG from 2004 until his death. As well as regularly attending IFLA conferences, he was very interested in assisting young professional librarians from developing countries. He was involved in the Commonwealth Fellowship scheme and in training young professionals from Eastern Europe.

CILIP and its International Library and Information Group (ILIG) therefore invite any ILIG member (N.B. UK CILIP members can now join ILIG free of charge) or a CILIP member living outside the UK to apply to attend the World Library and Information Congress organised by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) in Kuala Lumpur in 2018.  

The award covers the IFLA conference fee and 200 GBP towards travel and accommodation.

You will be required to write a reflective report of 2- 4,000 words within six months of your visit which will be published in Focus on International Library and Information Work, the ILIG journal.

How to apply

You should submit a formal proposal in English of up to 400 words (equivalent to 1–2 pages of A4 paper) detailing how the visit will support your professional development and your organisation.

Headings such as 'Visit objectives', ‘Planned approach and content', 'Application of learning post-visit’ may be used.

You should attach a Curriculum Vitae of up to five pages in length, including the names of two referees in senior posts. You are encouraged to seek the support of your line-manager or organisation, prior to submitting an application. The deadline for the receipt of proposals for the 2018 Alan Hopkinson Award is Sunday 8 April 2018. The successful applicant will be notified by the end of April 2018.

The proposal should be sent by e-mail to Anna Jablkowska, the ILIG Secretary, at

Applications will be considered by a panel comprised of CILIP President Ayub Khan alongside Ian Stringer, ILIG Chair and Anna Jablkowska, ILIG Secretary. (To note the decision of the judging panel is final and unfortunately we may be unable to give detailed feedback to all applicants.)

Anthony Thompson Award 

This award, usually made every three years, enables a qualified library and information professional from outside the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) to visit and study some aspects of UK library and information work for two to three weeks.

Anthony Thompson was the first full-time Secretary-General of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) from 1962 to 1970.  Following his death, in 1979, a trust fund was set up for the study of international and comparative librarianship. This is is the origin of the Anthony Thompson Award.

The Award is a CILIP award, managed for CILIP by ILIG. It was first awarded in 1983.  and has been made, usually every three years, since.

Avis Holder, the Project Manager (Digitization) in the Library Archiving Unit for the Office of the Parliament for Trinidad and Tobago, was the Anthony Thompson Award Winner in 2016. She visited in July 2016 and met with librarians from throughout the UK, as well as attending the 2016 CILIP Conference in Brighton.

CILIP Conference bursary award

Congratulations to Holger Aman, recipient of the CILIP ILIG bursary award for the 2018 CILIP Conference! Many thanks to all those who applied.

Early Bird signup for the CILIP Conference is available until 11 May 2018.

Contact us