Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
UKeiG latest news
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
UKeiG latest news

UKeiG Members' Day and AGM - Friday 7th June 2019

We held our annual Members' Day and AGM which on Friday 7th June at CILIP HQ in London. The subject was Artificial Intelligence. The speakers were David Haynes (City University), Tony Russell-Rose (UX Labs) and Michael Upshall (UNSILO and ConsultMU). Below are links to the presentations given at the Members' Day

David Haynes - Is there a role for AI in information resource management 
Tony Russell Rose - Introduction to NLP
Michael Upshall - The new AI for publishing_ hype or game changer

You will find the minutes of last years' AGM and the official notification of the AGM here.



The UKeiG are delighted to announce that the winners of the two UKeiG bursary places for CILIP Conference 2019 are Natasha Chowdary and Stephen Furlong.

We had nine applications for the two bursaries and it was hard to choose the final two winners from the excellent applicants.

Natasha and Stephen can look forward to two days of a comprehensive programme that will appeal to professionals in all sectors, no matter what stage of career. There is still time for you to take advantage of the Early Bird Discount (ending 17 May) so that you can also experience the range of expert-led seminars and workshops. The content will encourage discussion, knowledge sharing and cross-sectoral learning, and provide delegates with the practical skills and knowledge to positively influence the future.

UKeiG will have a stand in the exhibition hall, so remember to come and say hello, find out about our event schedule and see you can get involved with our projects.

UKeiG Early Career Award deadline - May 31st 2019/MA, MSc Bursaries/Other Funding Opportunities

The UKeiG, the UK electronic information Group, is committed to encouraging and championing excellence and innovation across the profession.

In support of the continuing professional development of library and information students and early career professionals UKeiG would like to:

*Remind you about the end of May deadline for the Early Career Award

*Update you on the range of UKeiG bursaries to encourage research, information exchange and best practice

These include:

*UKeiG Early Career Award: The UKeiG Early Career Award celebrates extraordinary and inspirational enterprise in early-career professionals who are members of CILIP. A prize of £1,000 and a trophy will be awarded. This years’ closing date is the 31st May 2019.

*MSc/MA Dissertation Bursaries: These bursaries provide an excellent opportunity for Library and Information Science MSc/MA students to present their postgraduate research at a conference and/or to publish an article highlighting their postgraduate research activity. UKeiG will award £250 to one student per relevant higher education institution to encourage this to happen.

*Student or Early Career Professional Conference Bursaries: UKeiG is offering five discretionary bursaries of £250 to support current library and information students or early-career professionals to attend a relevant conference.

*Study Visit Bursaries: UKeiG is keen to support collaborative working and the benchmarking of good practice by offering these five bursaries of £200 to support study visits by students or early career professionals.

For more information about UKeiG's awards and bursaries please visit our Awards & Bursaries page.

eLucidate 15 (3) 2019 is now available

The UK einformation Group is pleased to announce the publication of Volume 15 issue 3 2019 of our journal eLucidate. 

eLucidate is published three times per volume: around spring, summer and winter.


eLucidate  features contributions from experts in the field, keeping members up to date with developments and innovations in the digital information industry, considering the impact on information professionals and consumers of e-information.

Topics in this issue include: Evolution of UKeiG, Open Access, Rethinking Advanced Search, a reflection of the key themes of the 2018 CILIP Conference in Brighton,  Mindful Technology, Big Data, Artificial Intelligence and the Internet of Things, Ultra Information Management, and the regular Online Resource Update.

Tony Kent Strix Award 2018

The UK electronic information Group (UKeiG), in partnership with the International Society for Knowledge Organisation UK (ISKO UK), the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Information and Computer Applications Group (RSC CICAG) and the British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG), is delighted to announce that the winner of the prestigious Tony Kent Strix Memorial Award for 2018, in recognition of her contributions to the field of information retrieval, is Professor Pia Borlund (Department of Archivistics, Library and Information Science at Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Norway).

The Award was presented by Doug Veal (Strix Chair) and David Ball (UKeiG Chair) and accepted by Dr Andrew MacFarlane on Professor Borlund’s behalf on the afternoon of Friday November 23rd2018, at the Geological Society, Piccadilly, London. Professor Borlund will present the next Strix Memorial Lecture on Friday November 29th, 2019 at the same venue.

For more information about Professor Pia Borlund see our Tony Strix Award 2018 page. 

The Tony Kent Strix Award was inaugurated in 1998 by the Institute of Information Scientists but is now administered by the UK electronic information Group (UKeIG). Read more about the Tony Kent Strix Award.

A call for nominations for next year will be issued early in 2019, and don’t forget to put the afternoon of Friday November 29, 2019 in your diary.

For more information about UKeIG or the Strix Award, please email Horrocks at

UKeiG is a Special Interest Group of CILIP: the library and information association

Contact us