Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
Health Libraries Group awards/bursaries

Photo:  Imrana Ghumra (Co-Chair of HLG) with prize winners at the HLG 2016 Conference held in Scarborough.

HLG offers a number of grants and bursaries to support the continuing professional development of our members. These include conference bursaries to attend both national and international conferences, financial assistance to support unemployed members attending our courses. Additional awards include the Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize to recognise outstanding services to medical librarianship and the biennial Research in the Workplace Award (RIWA) to support small UK based workplace research projects with the aim of developing a strong evidence base for health information practice. 

Health and Care Explained Event Bursary

HLG is providing one bursary and travel allowance for an HLG member to attend the Health and Care Explained Event taking place at the King’s Fund on 20th January 2020.

Please apply online at and view the Bursary guidelines here.

Bishop and LeFanu Lecture

The Bishop and LeFanu Memorial Lecture was established in 1968 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Medical Section of the Library Association, in which William John Bishop played a significant role. Leslie Morton suggested and endorsed having Bishop commemorated by a lecture or similar memorial.  This was then put into effect.   The lecture is currently given at the biennial HLG Conference on the occasion of the Annual General Meeting.

Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize

Established in 1962, this prize is awarded by the Health Libraries Group Committee in recognition of outstanding services to medical librarianship and is awarded every three years.  

We would like to thank everyone who submitted their nominations for this prestigious award which will be made at the 2018 Health Libraries Group Conference at Keele University.  This year's winner was Richard Osborn (former London Strategic Lead for Library Services and e-Learning) for his outstanding contribution to medical librarianship.

EAHIL Bursaries

Anita Phul, Training Librarian at Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust was the recipient of the 2018 EAHIL bursary and attended the conference in Cardiff. Anita’s report can be found in the September 2018 issue of the HLG Newsletter

EBLIP 2019 Bursaries

HLG offered two full bursaries for members to attend the 10th International EBLIP Conference in Glasgow including travel allowance. The bursaries were awarded to:

Anna Brown, CEBIS Specialist at University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire NHS Trust
Ann Stairmand-Jackson, Librarian at Birmingham City University 


HLG International Award

The HLG International Award was established in 2012 and is run in partnership with CILIP’s International Libraries Group (ILIG) and Partnerships in Health Information (Phi). 

HLG sponsored Bursaries - CILIP conference

We received a good response to the HLG Bursaries Survey.  81 people asked to be entered into the prize draw to receive one of two tickets to attend the CILIP 2019 Conference. The lucky winners were:

• Tricia Rey, Library Services Manager at Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 
• Rosy Bennett, Knowledge & Systems Librarian at Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. 

HLG Conference bursaries

HLG funded 9 members to attend the HLG 2018 conference in Keele. Bursaries are available for first-timers as well as presenters.  

International Clinical Librarians Conference (ICLC) Bursaries

HLG is offering two full bursaries for members to attend the 10th International Clinical Librarian Conference (ICLC) in Manchester between 3rd & 4th October. Please click here for application guidelines – closing date 12th July 2019.

ICLC programme at

Leslie Morton Bursary

The winner of this year's Leslie Morton bursary was Anne Gray, Knowledge Officer at Arden & GEM Commissioning Support Unit to attend EAHIL in Basel.

The Bursary was established to encourage attendance at international conferences in health librarianship, medical bibliography or medical history and awards up to £1,000 to the successful recipient. 

The 2018 winner was Owen Coxall from Bodleian Health Libraries who attended MLA 2018 in Atlanta. Please see the HLG Newsletter (December 2018) for Owen’s report.

Research in the Workplace Award

Applications have now closed for the 2018 Research in the Workplace Award (RIWA). Sponsored by HLG, UHMLG and LIRG, the award has been given to Reading for Health, a collaborative proposal submitted by Carol Hallesy, Knowledge Services Manager at NHS Lanarkshire and Lynn Clark at CultureNL Libraries.

UHMLG Spring Forum ticket giveaway

Applications have now closed for CILIP’s Health Libraries Group UHMLG Spring Forum tickets.  The lucky recipients were Amy Rippon (Roehampton University) and Hazel Fisher (Belfast Health & Social Care Trust).


Contact us