Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize

Established in 1962, this prize is awarded by the Health Libraries Group Committee in recognition of outstanding services to medical librarianship.   

The most recent prize

Sarah Hennessy (Co-Chair of HLG) read out the citation and presented the Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize to Richard Osborn (former London Strategic Lead for Library Services and e-Learning) for his outstanding contribution to medical librarianship.

Past recipients of the prize

2018 Richard Osborn
Anne Brice
2011 Andrew Booth
2008 Margaret Forrest
2005 Jean Shaw
2002 Bob Gann
1999 Judith Palmer 
1996 Margaret Haines
1993 Derek Law 
1989 Michael Carmel
1986 Shane Godbolt
1983 Anthony J Harley 
1980 Roy Tabor 
1977 John Thornton 
1974 William R LeFanu 
1971 Leslie Morton 
1968 Brian Armitage 
1965 Frank Rogers 
1962 William J Bishop (posthumously).


Photo:  Anne Brice being presented with the Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize by David Stewart.

Click here to read more about the Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize.  The short article is entitled "The Cyril Barnard Memorial Prize and Essay: a brief history.

Contact us