Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join now
Welsh Librarian of the Year Award 2018. Nominations open.
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group




Nominations are now open for the Welsh Librarian of the Year Award 2018!


This award celebrates librarians and information professionals in Wales and recognises the crucial role we play in improving societies and communities.

Past winners of the award have all made a demonstrable impact on their service and to their community, as well as displaying commitment to the profession itself.

Nominations are welcomed from all sectors and all career stages, so please do take this opportunity to recognise and nominate your colleagues.

Deadline for nominations is 31 March 2018 (same day as for Early Bird fees for the CILIP Cymru 2018 Conference).


Nomination form


We look forward to joining you at the CILIP Cymru 2018 Conference in Aberystwyth to present the 2018 award, generously sponsored by Sirsi Dynix, worldwide library technology specialist.



Wendy Foster was the deserving winner of the Welsh Librarian of the Year Award for 2017.  Wendy has made an outstanding  contribution in her field of health information, and beyond through her engagement with national bodies, including CILIP. More details can be found on her nomination here.

In addition, Thomas Hywel James received a special lifetime achievement award in recognition of his career in developing and shaping public library services.

The award reinforces that value that CILIP places  on professional library, information and knowledge workers.   Achieving the shortlist is no mean feat’.

The seven shortlisted nominees (in no particular order) were:

  • Allie Cingi, Library Manager. Pencoed Library
  • Thomas Hywel James, Principal Librarian. Gwynedd Library Service
  • Isabel Puscas, Senior Evidence & Knowledge Analyst. Observatory Evidence Service, Public Health Wales
  • Stephen Gregory, Legal and Digital Librarian & Team Leader. Information and Archive Services, Welsh Government
  • Sue Hodges, recently retired from the post of Director of Libraries and Archives, Bangor University and Chair of WHELF
  • Wendy Foster, Knowledge Services Manager. Glangwili Library, Hywel Dda University Health Board
  • Nia Gruffydd, User Services Manager. Gwynedd Library Service

Welsh Librarian Award

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
WLYA Nomination form 2018 DOCX (164.95 KB) K. Parry 12/03/2018
Contact us